Hymn—“O God Our Help In Ages Past”

Scripture Reading—Proverbs 18:1-24

”Through desire a man, having separated himself, seeketh and intermeddleth with all wisdom. A fool hath no delight in understanding, but that his heart may discover itself. When the wicked cometh, then cometh also contempt, and with ignominy reproach. The words of a man’s mouth are as deep waters, and the wellspring of wisdom as a flowing brook. It is not good to accept the person of the wicked, to overthrow the righteous in judgment. A fool’s lips enter into contention, and his mouth calleth for strokes. A fool’s mouth is his destruction, and his lips are the snare of his soul. The words of a talebearer are as wounds, and they go down into the innermost parts of the belly. He also that is slothful in his work is brother to him that is a great waster. The name of the LORD is a strong tower: the righteous runneth into it, and is safe. The rich man’s wealth is his strong city, and as an high wall in his own conceit. Before destruction the heart of man is haughty, and before honour is humility. He that answereth a matter before he heareth it, it is folly and shame unto him. The spirit of a man will sustain his infirmity; but a wounded spirit who can bear? The heart of the prudent getteth knowledge; and the ear of the wise seeketh knowledge. A man’s gift maketh room for him, and bringeth him before great men. He that is first in his own cause seemeth just; but his neighbour cometh and searcheth him. The lot causeth contentions to cease, and parteth between the mighty. A brother offended is harder to be won than a strong city: and their contentions are like the bars of a castle. A man’s belly shall be satisfied with the fruit of his mouth; and with the increase of his lips shall he be filled. Death and life are in the power of the tongue: and they that love it shall eat the fruit thereof. Whoso findeth a wife findeth a good thing, and obtaineth favour of the LORD. The poor useth intreaties; but the rich answereth roughly. A man that hath friends must shew himself friendly: and there is a friend that sticketh closer than a brother.”

Opening Prayer

Hymn—“O What Matchless Condescension”

Sermon—“Signposts For Your Journey Through The Bible: Part 26”

Some of the points covered in this sermon:
• A single study on Bible Reading is given for this session of studies
• A review is given of the first nine books of the Old Testament—Genesis, Job, Exodus, Leviticus, Numbers, Deuteronomy, Joshua, Judges and Ruth
• 80% of the entire history of the Old Testament is covered by these nine books, a grand total of 2,850 years
• The emphasis in each book is on the people who lived during that time in history, rather than the events which unfolded throughout the course of history
• The masterplan of God for the ages is set forth in each book, namely, His dispensing (or administering) grace to the two groups of the human race—special grace unto salvation to the elect, and common grace unto creation to the non-elect
• An explanation is given for the error of the Arminians and the Moderate-Calvinists who conflate the special and common grace of God, whereby they develop the pernicious teachings of duty faith and the free offer of the gospel

Hymn—“Christ Is The Eternal Rock”

Closing Prayer


Now unto the King eternal, immortal, invisible, the only wise God, be honor and glory for ever and ever. Amen.


Comments are closed.

Copyright © 2019, The Association of Historic Baptists